La boutique

Roscoff PDO onion braid

The famous Roscoff PDO onion braid! This is the traditional presentation of the Roscoff onion, the one adopted by the johnnies when they went to Britain to sell their produce. Today, Roscoff PDO onion braids are still as practical to transport and store at home.

38

Shipping included in metropolitan France

Back to products

The onion braid from Maison Quéméner

Roscoff PDO onion braids are handmade in our shed: it's home-made! The braids can be longer or shorter depending on the number of rows of onions. At Maison Quéméner, our braids are approximately 1.2 kg (i.e. about 13 onions).

The braid, which looks like a bunch of onions, ends with a loop so that you can easily hang it up at home! For optimal storage, hang the braid in a cool, dry place.

How do you make a braid of Roscoff PDO onions?

To make a braid, you need some material (raffia and a paper support) and above all a good hand! The paper support serves as a skeleton for the braid, the onions are attached to it one after the other with the raffia.

The braid always starts with a rather large onion, called the penn kapitenn. In Breton, this name usually refers to the captain of the ship. You know, the one who embarks first, takes the helm and disembarks after everyone else... Our onion penn kapitenn has the same role, tied up first and untied last.


Once the penn kapitenn is in place, the first row must be formed, then the second... The raffia is wrapped tightly around the tail of the onion. In addition to being useful for keeping the bulb in place for a long time, the tail serves as a hook for braiding. And because the braiding acts as a ligature on the onions, the bulbs can be stored for several months.

La boutique

Tresse d’oignons de Roscoff AOP

La fameuse tresse d’oignons de Roscoff AOP ! C’est la présentation traditionnelle de l’oignon de Roscoff, celle adoptée par les Johnnies lorsqu’ils partaient en Grande-Bretagne vendre leur production. Aujourd’hui, les tresses d’oignons de Roscoff AOP sont toujours aussi pratiques à transporter et à stocker chez vous.

38

Frais de port inclus en France métropolitaine

Revenir à la boutique

La tresse d’oignons de la Maison Quéméner

Les tresses d’oignons de Roscoff AOP sont réalisées à la main dans notre hangar : c’est du fait maison ! Les tresses peuvent être plus ou moins longues en fonction du nombre de rangs d’oignons. À la Maison Quéméner, nos tresses font approximativement 1,2 kg (soit environ 13 oignons).

La tresse, qui ressemble en fait à une grappe d’oignons, se termine avec une boucle de manière à ce que vous puissiez facilement la suspendre une fois chez vous ! Pour une conservation optimale, suspendez la tresse dans un endroit frais et sec.

Comment réalise-t-on une tresse d’oignons de Roscoff AOP ?

Pour réaliser une tresse, il faut un peu de matériel (du raphia et un support papier) et surtout un bon tour de main ! Le support papier sert de squelette à la tresse, les oignons y sont attachés les uns après les autres avec le raphia.

La tresse débute toujours avec un oignon assez gros, nommé le penn kapitenn. En breton, ce nom désigne habituellement le capitaine du navire. Vous savez, celui qui embarque le premier tient la barre et débarque après tout le monde... Notre oignon penn kapitenn a le même rôle, attaché le premier et détaché le dernier.

Une fois le penn kapitenn en place, il faut constituer le premier rang, puis le second… Le raphia est enroulé de manière serrée autour de la queue de l’oignon. En plus d’être utile pour la conservation longue du bulbe, la queue sert d’accroche lors du tressage. Et comme le tressage agit comme une ligature sur les oignons, les bulbes se conservent ainsi plusieurs mois.